UTS site search

Awards and Citations

2016 UTS Award and Citation recipients

2016 UTS Teaching and Learning Awards

Team Teaching Award

Professor Caroline Homer, Faculty of Health and team members: Ms Allison Cummins, Ms Rosemarie Hogan, Dr Christine Catling, Ms Rachel Smith, Professor Maralyn Foreur, and Associate Professor Joanne Gray. 

Midwifery at UTS: Preparing midwives for a contemporary maternity system. 

Individual Teaching Award

Dr Amanda White, UTS Business School

Making a silk purse out of Auditing 101.

Strengthening the UTS Model of Learning Award

Dr Ilaria Vanni Accarigi, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

The Virtual Landscape Tour: Active Learning and Intercultural Engagement Strategies in International Studies

learning.futures Award

Dr Yvonne Davila and Ms Neela Griffiths, Faculty of Science

For an outstanding contribution to developing and supporting academic and professional communication skills in first year Science through an embedded, student-centred, flipped learning approach. 

Integration of Indigenous Professional Capabilities into Curriculum Award

Associate Professor Joanne Gray, Faculty of Health, and team members: Mrs Claudia Virdun, Ms Anna Doab, Dr Tamara Power, Ms Angela Phillips, Ms Rachel Smith, and Ms Jennifer Newman. 

For the development of innovative learning and teaching activities enabled by a Faculty of Health Indigenous Graduate Attribute to support growth of student Indigenous Professional Capabilities. 

Learning and Teaching Citations 

Dr Tuck Leong (Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology)

          For facilitating authentic learning experiences for Interaction Design students with an emphasis on developing well-rounded IT professionals who can design useful, useable and thoughtful technologies. 
Dr Tamara Power et al (Faculty of Health) with Mrs Claudia Virdun, Mrs Carolyn Hayes and Ms Haidee White Plastic with personality: Inspiring and motivating undergraduate nurses' engagement with manikins and flipped learning through the introduction of online audio-visual vignettes in Medical-Surgical nursing. 
Dr Nico Schulenkorf (UTS Business School) Developing work-ready sports management students through a dynamic and culturally inclusive 'real world' learning environment. 
Dr George Herok (Faculty of Science) For enhancing participation in Physiology for students in different programs by creating authentic and innovative learning experiences. 
Dr Mohsen Askari (Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology) For inspiring and engaging students in Civil and Mechanical Engineering to induce deep learning and understanding through contextual and multisensory teaching approaches. 
Dr Walter Jarvis and Dr Natalia Nikolova (UTS Business School) For cultivating moral accountability (stewardship) and self-reflection in postgraduate business students through flipped learning and experiential education.