UTS site search

Essential information

Credit recognition

Essential reading before you apply:

This page provides information specific to credit recognition towards UTS: Information Technology courses and is designed to be read in conjunction with the University's credit recognition page.

Please note the following important points:

  1. Subjects completed over three (3) years prior to your first session of study in a UTS: Information Technology course will not be considered for credit recognition.
  2. The following deadlines apply for the submission of applications for credit recognition:
    • Domestic applicants: applications must be submitted at the time of receiving an offer of admission to a UTS: Information Technology course and prior to formal enrolment.
    • International applicants: where possible, applications should be submitted at the time of applying to UTS, but no later than the time of formal enrolment in a UTS: Information Technology course.



Relevant prior study at one of the following institutions may be recognised for credit:

Another university

If you have undertaken relevant study at another recognised university, you may be eligible for credit recognition. The Faculty assesses such applications for credit recognition on a case-by-case basis.

If your previous studies were undertaken overseas, you may be eligible for credit recognition provided that the institution is recognised by UTS as part of an external articulation arrangement. Consult the credit recognition tool to see whether this applies.


If you have successfully completed the Diploma of Information Technology, you may be eligible to receive up to 48 credit points (one full-time year) of credit recognition, depending on your academic performance in the Diploma. Consult the credit recognition tool for details on the specific credit granted.


There are a number of eligible TAFE NSW courses that we recognise. Credit recognition is normally only granted for Diploma and Advanced Diplomas in the ICT training package. The information below applies only to TAFE NSW courses completed in the past three years.

General exemptions for electives

Students who have completed an eligible TAFE NSW course may be granted 24 credit points of unspecified electives for the UTS: IT courses listed above. Note: There is a ceiling of 48cp for all elective exemptions.

Exemptions for business subjects

Students enrolled in the Bachelor of Business, Bachelor of Science in Information Technology may be eligible for exemption for some business subjects if they have studied a business diploma at TAFE. Separate documentation must be supplied to the UTS Business School.

Specific subject exemptions

The following diplomas are recognised for 24 credit points of credit. Note: A maximum of one Diploma AND one Advanced Diploma will be recognised. It is possible to combine one Diploma and one Advanced Diploma to receive up to 48 credit points (one full-time year) of credit recognition.

Course name
ICA50111, ICT50115Diploma of Information Technology
ICA50211, ICT50215Diploma of Digital and Interactive Games
ICA50311, ICT50315Diploma of IT Systems Administration
ICA50411, ICT50415Diploma of IT Networking
ICA50511, ICT50515Diploma of Database Design and Development
ICA50611, ICT50615Diploma of Website Development
ICA50711, ICT50715Diploma of Software Development
ICA50811, ICT50815Diploma of Systems Analysis and Design
ICA50911, ICT50915Diploma of Digital Media Technologies
ICA60111, ICT60115Advanced Diploma of Information Technology
ICA60211, ICT60215Advanced Diploma of Network Security
ICA60311, ICT60315Advanced Diploma of IT Business Analysis
ICA60411, ICT60415Advanced Diploma of IT Project Management
ICA60511, ICT60515Advanced Diploma of Computer Systems Technology

Challenge Tests

Students can also apply for specific subject credit recognition via Challenge Tests. Challenge Tests are normally undertaken during the orientation period before classes commence, and students must register to attend. Tests are currently offered for the following subjects:

  • 31268 Web Systems
  • 31270 Networking Essentials (Cisco CCNA1)*
  • 31277 Routing and Internetworks (CCNA2)*
  • 31283 WANs and Virtual LANs (CCNA3 + CCNA4)*
  • 32521 WANS and VLANS
  • 32524 LANs and Routing [Postgraduate]
  • 41092 Network Fundamentals

* Only if the diploma was completed at a current Cisco Networking Academy


Postgraduate coursework

Subjects undertaken as part of an undergraduate degree, irrespective of the level of study, will not be considered for credit recognition with the following exceptions:

  • C04295 Master of Information Technology: up to 24 credit points of credit recognition may be granted for undergraduate studies equivalent to the four foundation subjects (professional stream):
    • 32524 LANs and Routing (subject to passing a Challenge Test) OR 6 credit point unspecified elective
    • 32555 Fundamentals of Software Development
    • 32557 Enabling Enterprise Information Systems
    • 32606 Database
  • C04160 Master of Science in Internetworking: up to 6 credit points of credit recognition may be granted for undergraduate studies equivalent to the foundation core subject, 32524 LANs and Routing (subject to passing a Challenge Test), completed within two (2) years of admission to C04160.

If you have undertaken relevant postgraduate-level study at another recognised university, you may be eligible for credit recognition. The Faculty assesses such applications on a case-by-case basis.

Credit recognition is not granted on the basis of work experience or in-house industry courses.

If you don't receive credit recognition, you may still be granted permission to substitute core subjects with an alternative/advanced postgraduate subject in a similar field of study. Subject substitution and recognition of prior learning are subject to Faculty approval.

Credit recognition is not offered to students studying a UTS: IT graduate certificate. However, the substitution of a core subject to an alternate postgraduate subject in a similar field of study may be granted, subject to Faculty approval.

Cisco certifications

Recognition of prior learning (including subject exemption and subject substitution) for the networking subject 32524 LANS and Routing may be considered for holders of CCNA or CCNP certification with recent relevant industry experience. Applicants will normally be required to pass a Challenge Test to demonstrate equivalent learning. The same applies to those who have passed the CCNA curriculum in TAFE Certificate IV and/or Diploma. The Challenge Test normally takes place in the week prior to the commencement of classes. Applicants must obtain Faculty approval prior to attending the Challenge Test.

More information

Further information, including application procedures, can be found on the University's credit recognition page.