

Pursuant to the *University of Technology, Sydney, By-law 2005, Part 4, Division 3, Clause 45*, the following rule changes by the Vice-Chancellor take effect immediately.

## RULES MADE BY THE VICE-CHANCELLOR

Amendments to existing Rules 16.16.1 and 16.16.2 of the Student and Related Rules relating to the University Student Conduct Committee (text deleted struckthrough, new text in **bold**).

## 16.16.1 Composition

- (1) A University Student Conduct Committee will comprise four members:
  - (a) Two members of the University staff drawn from a panel of staff approved by Academic Board A person with a legal qualification, normally but not necessarily a member of the University staff, as the Chair of the Committee; and
  - (b) A member of the University staff; and
  - (c) Two members who are students of the University drawn from a panel of student members approved by Academic Board from a panel nominated by the Faculty Boards, and who
    - (i) have attended a university for at least one year; and
    - (ii) are not full-time (continuing or fixed term) members of the University staff.
- (2) The Academic Board will from time to time approve panels of persons in each of the above categories who can be appointed to a University Student Conduct Committee.
- (3) When a meeting of the University Student Conduct Committee is required, the Registrar will appoint four persons from the approved panels to constitute a committee.

## 16.16.2 Conduct of meetings

- (1) One staff member will be appointed by the Academic Board to chair meetings of a University Student Conduct Committee.
- (2) An alternate Chair may be appointed by Academic Board from the approved panel of staff to act where the designated Chair is unavailable. In such a case the alternate Chair will assume the role of Chair and has a casting vote.
- (31) All members of the a University Student Conduct Committee must be present at all its meetings.

(42) A decision of the University Student Conduct Committee requires a simple majority. In the case where the vote is tied, the Chair has an additional casting vote.

Approved

Professor Ross Milbourne Vice-Chancellor

11 June 2009