

University of Technology, Sydney

Pursuant to clause 44 in division 3, part 4 of the By-law, the following rule changes made by the Council takes effect immediately.

### RULE CHANGES APPROVED BY COUNCIL

At its meeting 06/7 on 20 November 2006, Council resolved

### COU/06/134

.3 that G3 – Rules relating to the Academic Board, Division 1, be amended as detailed in Attachment 2 to Document 8.1, with effect from 1 January 2007:

.4 that the proposed changes to section 5.5 of the Student and Related Rules, as detailed in Attachment 3 to Document 8.1, be approved for immediate implementation;

### Attachment 2 reads:

(Additions in *italics* and deletions in strikethrough.)

# "G3 – RULES RELATING TO THE ACADEMIC BOARD DIVISION 1 – THE ACADEMIC BOARD

- 1. (1) The Academic Board is to include:
  - (a) ex officio members (in addition to the Vice-Chancellor); and
  - (b) elected members,
  - as provided by this Division, in addition to any persons determined by the Council.
- (2) The ex officio members of the Academic Board are to be the person or persons holding the positions of:
  - (a) Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor; and
  - (b) Pro Vice Chancellor Deputy Vice-Chancellor; and
  - (c) University Librarian; and
  - (d) Director, Information Technology Division; and
  - (e) Director, Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning; and
  - (f) Dean of Faculty; and
  - (g) Head of School; and
  - (h) President of the Students' Association; and
  - (i) Associate Dean of Faculty; and
  - (j) Dean of Graduate Studies; and
  - (k) Director, Student Administration; and
  - (l) Director, Institute for Interactive Media and Learning; and

## (m) Registrar; and

- (n) (m) Director, Student Services; and
- (o)(n)Director, Institute for Sustainable Futures: and
- (p)(o)Director, Institute for International Studies; and
- (q)(p)Director of Research (Faculty of Nursing, Midwifery and Health)

- (r) Director of Research (Faculty of Law)
- (s) Chief Financial Officer
- (t) Executive Director (Organisational Support)

(u)-(q)Director, University Research Institute.

in addition to the holder or holders of any other position determined by the Council.

- (3) The elected members of the Academic Board comprise:
  - (a) three members of the academic staff elected from each faculty with at least one of these members to be a professor; and
  - (b) one student elected from each faculty; and
  - (c) two postgraduate students (not from the same faculty) elected by all postgraduate students of the University with at least one of these members to be a research degree student; and
  - (d) one member of the academic staff elected by and from the Institute for International Studies, and
  - (e) one Director, elected by and from the Directors of the Key University Research Centres."

Attachment 3 reads:

## "Changes to Section 5.5 Student and Related Rules

(new text <u>underlined</u>)

5.5.2 Unless Academic Board has resolved otherwise in respect of a particular course, deferral of commencement of study is not available for <u>Bachelor Honours degrees</u>, graduate courses or non-award courses."