Skip to main content

Doctoral Scholarship Media Pluralism and Online News


Equivalent to RTPS rate

3 years





UTS is offering a PhD scholarship for research that will contribute to an ARC Discovery Project on media pluralism and online news. The project is being conducted by researchers at the Department of Media and Communications at the University of Sydney, the School of Communication at University of Technology Sydney and the Faculty of Law at UTS.

The PhD candidate will be enrolled through the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences and based at the Centre for Media Transition at UTS, commencing Autumn Session (February) 2019 for a period of three years. Supervisors will be Associate Professor Saba Bebawi in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences and Professor Derek Wilding in the Faculty of Law. Associate Professor Tim Dwyer at the University of Sydney is available as a cross-institutional co-supervisor.

The candidate will undertake a thesis on media pluralism and diversity policies. Their thesis will address issues such as the production of news in an online environment; the growing significance of online platforms for the distribution of news; major trends and concerns such as automated and algorithmic news; news sharing and social media platforms; personalised, locative and fake news; search, aggregated news and blogs; investigative and public interest journalism and public service media; and, the operation and effectiveness of regulatory accountability systems.

The successful applicants will be given research supervision, support and training, and will be expected to take part in the research life of the Centre by attending seminars and workshops. There will also be opportunities for paid casual work and professional development, such as tutoring and research assistance.

Applicants for the scholarship must also apply and be admitted to the PhD degree at UTS.

Who is eligible?

Applicants should 

  • have interest in both news innovation and media pluralism 
  • have completed a Bachelor Degree with First Class Honours or Second Class Honours (Division 1), or be regarded by the University as having an equivalent level of attainment
  • be accepted into a UTS PhD degree in one of the three participating faculties prior to being ranked for the scholarship
  • commence the PhD degree program in the year in which the scholarship commences

Selection process

Selection Criteria

  • Academic merit in previous undergraduate and/or postgraduate study  
  • Research and other relevant experience of the applicant
  • Quality of the research proposal and its relevance to the strategic intent of the Centre for Media Transition.
  • While the candidate will be enrolled through the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, qualifications or experience in law and regulation would be highly regarded.

Need more information? Contact...

Faculty of Law: Dr Derek Wilding,, 0425 242 401

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences: Associate Professor Saba Bebawi,, 0412 568 131