UTS site search
UTS C3 Climate Change Cluster

Seafood Safety: Marine Algal Biotoxins


Associate Professor Shauna Murray - Team leader
Dr Penny Ajani - Chancellor's Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Malwenn Lassudrie Duchesne - Visiting Fellow
Anna Liza Kretzschmar- UTS PhD student
Rendy Ruvindy- UTS PhD student
Arjun Verna - UTS PhD student

Honorary/Past Associates

Dr Hazel Farrell
Dr Gurjeet Kohli
Dr Anuizka Kazandjian
Dr Frances Van Dolah

Past Research/visiting students

Jin Ho Kim, Department of Life Science, College of Natural Sciences, Hanyang University, South Korea.
Rutuja Diwan- Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research, Germany
Kristina Haslauer- Coburg University, Germany


Key strengths and capabilities

- Detection of marine toxic eukaryotes using novel molecular methods
- Evolution and phylogenetics of marine microbial eukaryotes
- Ecology of toxin uptake in marine animals
- Genetic basis of toxin biosynthesis in marine eukaryotes

Partners and Collaborators

Dr Mona Hoppenrath - Senckenberg Institute, Wilhelmshaven, Germany
Associate Professor Uwe John - Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research, Bremerhaven, Germany
Professor Frank Seebacher – University of Sydney, Australia
Dr Russell Orr, Dr Anke Stuken - University of Oslo, Norway,
Anthony Zammit and Dr Hazel Farrell - NSW Food Authority
Ana Rubio and Peter Coad - Hornsby Council
Jaimie Potts, Peter Scanes and Martin Krogh - Office of Environment and Heritage
Lesley Clementson and Anthony Richardson - CSIRO
Linda Armbrecht, Leanne Armand and Drew Allen - Macquarie University
Professor Gustaaf Hallegraeff and Dr. Juan Jose Dorantes Aranda - Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, Tasmania
Dr Chris Bolch - University of Tasmania, Australia
Dr Hong Chang Lim - Tunku Abdul Rahman University, Malaysia;
Jin Ho Kim and Prof. Myung-Soo HanHanyang University, South Korea
Prof David Patterson - MBL, Woods Hole
Dr Lesley Rhodes, Dr. Kirsty Smith, Dr Tim Harwood - Cawthron Institute, New Zealand.
Mr Mark van Asten - Diagnostic Technology, Australia
Dr Wayne O’Connor - NSW Department of Primary Industries, Port Stephens Australia
Dr Gurjeet S. Kohli- Singapore Centre for Environmental Life Sciences Engineering
Dr Raffaele Siano- IFREMER
Associate Professor Aaron Darling - UTS i3

Student research opportunities

Contact Shauna.Murray@uts.edu.au and Penelope.Ajani@uts.edu.au if you are interested in these projects

  • GE Algal Bio-factory projects - Undergraduate research, Honours and PhD projects available
  • The diversity of marine microbial eukaryotes in Sydney Harbour: a pyrosequencing approach (Honours)
  • Novel technologies for determining the dynamics of keystone metabolites in marine ecosystems (Honours)

PhD Projects PDF iconC3 2017 PhD Project Seafood Safety.pdf


Temperatures rising (UTS Science in Focus)
Rising ocean temperatures will affect oyster toxicity (ABC Online)
Fish poisoning on the rise (Sydney Morning Herald)
Marine microbe sequencing project (Australian Life Scientist)
Shedding light on genetic secrets of deadly algae (UTS Newsroom)
What is ciguaterra fish poisoning? (The Conversation)
Diffusion Science Radio - interview on ciguaterra fish poisoning (mp3 file download available)