UTS site search

About the centre

Awards and prizes

The ACIJ administers the George Munster Award for Independent Journalism, the Wanda Jamrozik Prize and the Dame Mary Gilmore Prize (for Journalism).

George Munster Award for Independent Journalism

The George Munster Award recognises excellence in independent journalism.  The award carries a prize of $1,000. Award conditions are currently under review.

Wanda Jamrozik Prize

The Wanda Jamrozik Prize is awarded to the best Honours or graduate thesis/project in the areas of Journalism, Media Studies or a related field in Social Science and the Humanities, which exemplifies human values in the media, especially in relation to ethnic, racial and multicultural issues, both in Australia and internationally. The cash prize is determined by the Faculty based on the interest earned by the Trust in the preceding year. It is usually not less than $1,000.

Dame Mary Gilmore Memorial Prize (for Journalism)

The Dame Mary Gilmore Memorial Prize for Journalism is awarded to a student whose submitted work exemplifies commentary on issues of social justice and the rights and concerns of women.  The work can be a thesis, project or portfolio of work, with at least one piece in the print medium.  The student must be a Journalism graduate, or a BA Communications Hons, or a Master of Journalism graduate who has satisfied all the requirements for graduation. The prize is $1000.