UTS site search

UTS IELTS Centre

Cancellation and transfers

Cancel your IELTS test

A minimum of 5 weeks’ notice is needed to cancel your IELTS test booking except if this is due to illness or serious cause.

To cancel your IELTS test booking, complete the IELTS Request for Refund or Test Date Transfer Form (PDF, 122kB) and submit it at the UTS IELTS Centre before the deadline.

  • The cancellation fee is A$82.50 (25% of the original test fee).
  • You will need to bring your passport for identification purposes.

Change your test date

A minimum of 5 weeks’ notice is needed to transfer your IELTS test booking except if this is due to illness or serious cause.

To transfer your IELTS test booking to another test date, complete the IELTS Request for Refund or Test Date Transfer Form (PDF, 122kB) and submit it at the UTS IELTS Centre before the deadline.

  • The transfer fee is A$82.50.
  • You will need to bring your passport for identification purposes.

Note: UTS IELTS Centre reserves the right not to accept cancellations and transfers if you started the test and left, or if you cannot attend both days of a two-day test.

Request a refund due to illness or serious cause

If you cannot attend your test due to illness or serious cause (including loss, bereavement and military service), you can apply for a refund by following the steps below:

  1. Fill out the IELTS Request for Refund or Test Date Transfer Form (PDF, 122kB). 
  2. Attach supporting documentation (e.g. original medical certificate, military service notice).
  3. Submit the Request for refund form and supporting documentation at the UTS IELTS Centre within 5 working days after your test.

If your request is approved, you will be refunded $247.50 (75% of the original test fee).

Request to change test date due to illness or serious cause

If you cannot attend your test date due to illness or serious cause (including loss or bereavement, military service), you can apply for a test date transfer by following the steps below:

  1. Fill out the IELTS Request for Refund or Test Date Transfer Form (PDF, 122kB). 
  2. Attach supporting documentation (e.g. original medical certificate, military service notice).
  3. Submit the IELTS Request for Refund or Test Date Transfer Form and supporting documentation at the UTS IELTS Centre within 5 working days after your test.

If your test day transfer is approved you may choose a test date within the next 3 months of your original test date only. If you wish to transfer to a test date more than 3 months after the original test date, you should apply for a refund and then re-apply for the test date you want.

If you require any assistance, please contact the UTS IELTS Centre.

Cancellation and transfer deadlines

Applications to transfer or cancel IELTS test bookings need to be completed by a certain deadline. Deadlines are as follow:

Test date                      cancellation AND TRANSFER  
by 5 weeks before test
Saturday, 7 January 2017Friday, 2 December 2016
Saturday, 21 January 2017Friday, 16 December 2016
Saturday, 11 February 2017Friday, 6 January 2017 
Saturday, 4 March 2017Friday, 27 January 2017
Saturday, 25 March 2017Friday, 17 February 2017
Saturday, 8 April 2017Friday, 3 March 2017
Saturday, 29 April 2017Friday, 24 March 2017
Saturday, 6 May 2017Friday, 31 March 2017
Saturday, 13 May 2017Friday, 7 April 2017
Saturday, 3 June 2017Friday, 28 April 2017
Saturday, 24 June 2017Friday, 19 May 2017
Saturday, 8 July 2017Friday, 2 June 2017
Saturday, 29 July 2017Friday, 23 June 2017
Saturday, 19 August 2017Friday, 14 July 2017
Saturday, 9 September 2017Friday, 4 August 2017
Saturday, 30 September 2017Friday, 25 August 2017
Saturday, 14 October 2017Friday, 8 September 2017
Saturday, 28 October 2017Friday, 22 September 2017
Saturday, 4 November 2017Friday, 29 September 2017
Saturday, 11November 2017Friday, 6 October 2017
Saturday, 2 December 2017Friday, 27 October 2017
Saturday, 9 December 2017Friday, 3 November 2017